Curl BC 2018 Award Winners

Congratulations to Denise Wood, Ron Kaneen and Sleeman Breweries, award recipients at the 2018 Curl BC Awards Banquet.

Ron Houston Award for Administrator of the Year – Denise Wood (Nanaimo)
Denise will be retiring this year after over 20 years of service as the Manager of the Nanaimo Curling Centre. She will leave behind a legacy as a club builder and visionary and her hard work towards the betterment of the club – from administering programs and bookkeeping to securing grants and promoting curling in Nanaimo – has not gone unnoticed. Denise is driven by her passion for the sport and her reputation has prompted other administrators from across Canada to seek her advice.

Club Volunteer of the Year – Ron Kaneen (Nanaimo)
Ron Kaneen has been making invaluable contributions to Nanaimo Curling Centre for years. He has served on the club’s Board, assisted in developing their strategic plan and database, and coached various teams and clinics. He has been highly involved with the club’s Special Olympics program for the past 20 years, and his dedication to the participants in this program has been a pleasure for others to witness.

Regional Sponsor the Year – Sleeman Breweries
Sleeman Breweries has been a valued sponsor of the Nanaimo Curling Centre and its Sleeman Six Pack League since 2010. Sleeman has also been the title sponsor of three Nanaimo Curling Centre bonspiels. The benefits of this sponsorship have been numerous, and Nanaimo Curling Centre looks forward to working with Sleeman Breweries for many years.